IEEE Bombay Section

In 1976, the Bombay Section was formed with a Territory of Maharashtra,Goa, Gujarat (which later separated to form a Section itself on 15 th August 1990), Madhya Pradesh (which now includes newly formed Chhatisgarh) and Diu & Daman UT (Except Pune Metropolitan City which is separate Section from 26th June 2010), closely followed by Bangalore & Delhi.

Mr. T V Balan of ACC was its first Chairman. Mr. D. N. Purandare being first Vice Chairman, Prof. A. A. Kulkarni, Secretary, Mr. Hiloowala Treasurer and Mr. H.S. Sonawala, Mr. K. J. Sheth, Mr. P. R. Bapat, Mr. Mukesh Gidwani, Dr. K. Shankar, Prof. D. M. Shah, Prof. M. V. Pitke and a few others were members of Executive Committee. Mr. Balan was succeeded by Mr D. N. Purandare, Mr. H. S. Sonawala, Mr. K. J. Sheth, Mr. P.R. Bapat, Dr. C. G. Ravi, Mr. K. S. Sonawala, Prof. S. C. Sahasrabudhe, Mr Q. Bakir, Mr R. Muralidharan, Prof. J Vasi, Prof. B.R. Prabhu, Prof. M.M. Shah, Prof. Uday Desai, Mr. Raju Hira, Dr. MV Pitke, Mr. Ashok Jagatia and Mr. AK Banerjee respectively. Presently, Mr Anthony Lobo is the Chairman.

You can email us at for more information.

The page is under construction and information is being currently updated.  Incase, you want to share some information, please email the Webmaster .

 Year Office Bearers Major Events Execom List
1986-1987 Chair : K Sonawalla
1988-1989 Chair : Kirit Sheth
Secretary : Prof Krantikumar
Treasurer : Prof K Shankar
  1. TenCon 89. IEEE Region 10 International Conference. Birthplace for “IT” term.  Attended by more than 3000 delegates.  More than 600 delegates from 29 Countries making one of largest & most successful conference organised by any section in India. 
1990-1991 Chair : P R Bapat
2003-2004 Chair : Prof. B.R. Prabhu
2005-2006 Chair : Prof. M. M. Shah
Secretary : Anthony Lobo
2007-2008 Chair : Prof. U.B. Desai
Secretary : Anthony Lobo
Treasurer : Ashok Jagatia 
2008-2009 Chair    : Raju Hira
Secretary : Ashok Jagatia
Treasurer : S.N. Merchant
  1. Elevation of Pune sub-section to Pune Section in 2010
  2. Inclusion of Bombay Section’s Life Member AG into Outstanding Group in 2009
  3. All India Student Congress in 2010
  4. Job Fair in 2009 & 2010
2010-2011 Chair  : Dr. M.V. Pitke
2012-2013 Chair : Ashok Jagatia
Secretary : Abhay Phansikar
Treasurer : Dnayesh Kamble
2014-2015 Chair : Atindra Banerjee
Secretary : Aiyappan 
Treasurer : Dr. Suryanarayan Doolla

© 2018 IEEE Bombay Section | All Rights Reserved | WebSite Designed by IEEE Bombay Section